Circa: 1972 – 1975
Home town: Salisbury

  • Nigel Asprey – Vocals
  • Alan Wheeler – Lead guitar
  • Peter Caminada (Founder member 1972/73) – Bass guitar
  • Bruce Senior – Bass guitar (Replaced Peter Caminada)
  • Claude “Hobo” Oberto – Rhythm guitar & keyboards
  • Ian Bailey – Drums
The band’s original four members before adopting the name, EFFIGY. Pete Caminada (bass), Ian Bailey (drums), Nigel Asprey (vocals) and Claude “Hobo” Oberto (guitar).   This photograph was taken in 1971 at the Miss MGHS Contest at Mabelreign High School.

The band, comprising mainly pupils from Ellis Robins High School, formed in 1972 and featured regularly on Martin Locke’s music television programme, “Disco Scene”.  Whilst essentially a rock band, EFFIGY, displayed their versatility by playing at gigs as varied as dinner & dances, weddings and beauty shows and pageants.